A Bit More About The Bookworm

For my first post, I thought I’d tell you a bit more about my reading style and how I got interested in Romance Novels.

I currently go through 1- 2 novels a week purely as a guilty pleasure. My “library” (I took over a spare bedroom in our house) is something to be seen and the envy of many of my friends. I will be posting photos soon.

I love romance novels. My first taste was “borrowing” the Mills & Boons my Mum loaned from the library when I was 12 or 13. I then moved to Anne Rice (including her erotic “Sleeping Beauty” series) and my husband (then my boyfriend) introduced me to Wilbur Smith. I found Maggie Shayne, JR Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon a few years later.

Until two years ago, Romance Novels where my guilty secret. Then I meet some like-minded women and my reading world EXPLODED. They introduced me to Meljean Brook and Collette Gleeson, to name just two. We started to discuss our books and critique what we had read over coffee and wine.

Just recently, I have started to put these reviews to paper. As an english lit major, I have found the critique parts easily but I’m still working on finding my voice. I try to be as honest as possible – I rely on reviews when I am looking at purchasing books so I don’t like to mislead.

My favourite styles are paranormal (particularly vampire as you can see from the above authors names!) and urban/contemporary. I also read sci-fi/fantasy/satire in the form of Terry Pratchett.

I choose to remain anonymous to allow for completely honest reviewing. I can say what I really think and feel without worrying. Also – I get to feel like a super hero with a secret identity!

TTFN (Ta Ta For Now)

Musing Bookworm

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog post

Leave a Reply

